#### SAINT CLOUD AREA PLANNING ORGANIZATION POLICY BOARD Thursday, January 9, 2024 – 4:30 PM

A regular meeting of the Saint Cloud Area Planning Organization Policy Board was held on Thursday, January 9, 2024, at 4:30 p.m. APO First Vice Chair Jared Gapinski presided with the following members present:

Jake Anderson	City of Saint Cloud
Tim Elness	City of Sartell
Dottie Seamans	City of Sauk Rapids
Frank Theisen	City of Waite Park
	(Alternate for Mayor Ken Schmitt)
Ryan Daniel	Metro Bus
Jared Gapinski	Benton County
Joe Perske	Stearns County
Jeff Westerlund	Le Sauk Township
	·

Also in attendance were: Brian Gibson Vicki Johnson Alex McKenzie Trina Ness

Absent:

Mike Conway Raeanne Danielowski City of Saint Cloud Sherburne County

Saint Cloud APO Saint Cloud APO

Saint Cloud APO

Saint Cloud APO

#### 1. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### 2. INTRODUCTIONS

### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Mr. Gibson asked that Item Number 7 be removed from the agenda as Ms. Simer will not be attending the meeting tonight due to weather-related concerns.

# *Mr.* Theisen motioned to approve the agenda as amended and Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion carried.

4. **PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD:** There were no members of the public present.

### 5. CONSIDERATION OF CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- a. Approve Minutes of November 14, 2024, Policy Board Meeting
- b. Approve Bills Lists
- c. Approve Annual Resolution on Investment Procedures
- d. Approve Annual Resolution on Paying Certain Claims

- e. Approve Resolution Authorizing MnDOT to Act as Fiscal Agent for the Tier 1 Bridge Corridor EIS
- f. Approve Administrative Modification to the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)
- g. Receive Report on 2024 Attendance for the Technical Advisory Committee
- h. Receive Report on the 2024 Attendance for the Policy Board Members
- i. Receive Staff Report on Meeting of the Technical Advisory Committee

## *Mr.* Daniel motioned to approve the consent agenda items. *Mr.* Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

#### 6. ELECT OFFICERS FOR 2025

Mr. Gibson presented the History of Officers for the Policy Board, showing which jurisdictions have served in what positions from 2011 through 2024. After discussion Mr. Anderson moved that Jared Gapinski be the chair, Mayor Anderson to be the 1<sup>st</sup> vice chair, Mr. Westerlund to be the 2<sup>nd</sup> vice chair, and Mayor Scepanik to be the 3<sup>rd</sup> vice chair. Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion carried.

#### 7. PRESENTATION ON MNDOT'S CORRIDOR PLANNING EFFORT

# 8. ELECT AN APO REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE AREA TRANSPORTATION PARTNERSHIP (ATP-3)

Ms. Johnson reviewed the Area Transportation Partnership (ATP-3) service area and the four planning entities from across MnDOT District 3. She reviewed why the ATPs were created by MnDOT and explained that there are 18 voting members on the Central Minnesota ATP-3.

Ms. Johnson gave a breakdown of the history of the Area Transportation Partnership (ATP-3), what the ATP-3 is, the expectations and requirements of someone representing the area and serving on the ATP-3. Currently Chair Gapinski is the APO's ATP-3 representative.

Mayor Anderson asked if Chair Gapinski would like to remain the representative for the ATP-3. Chair Gapiniski agreed.

#### *Mr. Elness motioned that Mr. Gapinski remain as the ATP-3 representative. Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion carried.*

#### 9. CONSIDER RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING NEWSPAPER OF RECORD

Mr. Gibson reviewed the Minnesota State Statute 412.831 stating that the APO must designate an official newspaper on an annual basis for legal notices, and public input opportunities (primarily for the Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)). He reviewed the options that we have regarding choosing a newspaper of record, which

are the St. Cloud Times, and St. Cloud Live. He reviewed the approximate cost, ownership, number of reporters, and the company website for each entity.

## Mayor Scepanik motioned to authorize St. Cloud Live as the newspaper of record for the APO. Mr. Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

#### **10. OTHER BUSINESS & ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Mr. Perske welcomed Mayor Scepanik to the APO.

Mr. Perske recommended that new mayors be invited to the next Policy Board meeting. Mr. Theisen added we should invite all area council members and commissioners and introduce them to the Policy Board and explain what the Policy Board is, along with its functions. Each governing body would have to announce or publish this as an open meeting as there may be quorums if all members of each governing body attend.

Ms. Johnson stated that February's Policy Board meeting falls on Transportation Alliance Day at the capital. At this meeting, the Policy Board awards funding for STBGP, TA, and CRP and it is important that all members attend.

Mayor Anderson stated that the mayors of the surrounding area plan to meet monthly to discuss issues and rebuild relationships.

#### **11. ADJOURNMENT:**

Mr. Gapinski adjourned the meeting at 4:49 p.m.