SAINT CLOUD AREA PLANNING ORGANIZATION POLICY BOARD Thursday, March 14, 2024 – 4:30 PM

A regular meeting of the Saint Cloud Area Planning Organization Policy Board was held on Thursday, March 14, 2024, at 4:30 PM APO Chair Raeanne Danielowski presided with the following members:

Jake Anderson	City of Saint Cloud
Dottie Seamans	City of Sauk Rapids
Tim Elness	City of Sartell
Frank Theisen	City of Waite Park
Jared Gapinski	County of Benton
Joe Perske	Stearns County
Jeff Westerlund	LeSauk Township
Kevin Kluesner	City of St. Joseph (Alternate for Rick Shultz)
Mike Kedrowski	Metro Bus (Alternate for Ryan Daniel)

Also in attendance were:	
Brian Gibson	Saint Cloud APO
Vicki Johnson	Saint Cloud APO
Alex McKenzie	Saint Cloud APO
Trina Ness	Saint Cloud APO
Gary Gray	Sherburne County
Anne Buckvold	Citizen

Absent:

Mayor Dave Kleis Jeff Goerger City of St. Cloud City of Saint Cloud

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Mr. Gapinski motioned to approve the amended agenda. *Mr.* Kluesner seconded the motion. *Motion carried.*

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No members of the public came forth with thoughts or concerns.

CONSIDERATION OF CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- a. Approve Minutes of February 7, 2024, Policy Board Meeting
- b. Approve Bills Lists
- c. Approve Publication of the Regional Infrastructure Investment Plan
- d. Receive Staff Report on Technical Advisory Committee Meeting
- e. Receive Staff Report on Beltline Workshop

Ms. Seamans motioned to approve the consent agenda items. Mr. Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

6. CONSIDER BELTLINE FUNDING FORMULAS

Mr. Gibson reviewed the beltline discussion from the February 7, 2024 Beltline Workshop. He said that the jurisdictions asked that the APO come up with a few different options for paying for the environmental review match. Mr. Gibson presented the following options:

Base APO Formula					
Member		%			
St. Cloud	\$90,803.17	45.40%			
St. Joseph	\$9,282.11	4.64%			
Sartell	\$26,008.69	13.00%			
Sauk Rapids	\$18,159.50	9.08%			
Waite Park	\$11,327.64	5.66%			
LeSauk TWP	\$1,641.41	0.82%			
Benton County	\$9,151.43	4.58%			
Sherburne County	\$3,799.97	1.90%			
Stearns County	\$26,092.05	13.05%			
Metro Bus	\$3,734.05	1.87%			
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%			

He then presented a number of alternative options.

If 65% of the costs were to be paid by the relevant jurisdictions, the costs would break out like this:

65% Formula					
Member	Individu %		Grouped Percent	Difference from Base	
St. Cloud	\$124,778.23	62.39%	65.00%	\$33,975.06	
Sherburne County	\$5,221.77	2.61%	03.0078	\$1,421.80	
St. Joseph	\$6,164.77	3.08%		-\$3,117.34	
Sartell	\$17,273.84	8.64%		-\$8,734.85	
Sauk Rapids	\$12,060.75	6.03%		-\$6,098.75	
Waite Park	\$7,523.32	3.76%	35.00%	-\$3,804.32	
LeSauk TWP	\$1,090.15	0.55%	55.00%	-\$551.26	
Benton County	\$6,077.98	3.04%		-\$3,073.45	
Stearns County	\$17,329.20	8.66%		-\$8,762.85	
Metro Bus	\$2,479.99	1.24%		-\$1,254.06	
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%	100.00%	\$0.00	

80% Formula					
Marchan	Individual		Grouped	Difference	
Member		%	Percent	from Base	
St. Cloud	\$153,573.21	76.79%	80.00%	\$62,770.04	
Sherburne County	\$6,426.79	3.21%	80.0070	\$2,626.83	
St. Joseph	\$3,522.73	1.76%		-\$5,759.38	
Sartell	\$9,870.76	4.94%		-\$16,137.93	
Sauk Rapids	\$6,891.86	3.45%		-\$11,267.64	
Waite Park	\$4,299.04	2.15%	20.00%	-\$7,028.60	
LeSauk TWP	\$622.94	0.31%	20.00%	-\$1,018.46	
Benton County	\$3,473.13	1.74%		-\$5,678.30	
Stearns County	\$9,902.40	4.95%		-\$16,189.65	
Metro Bus	\$1,417.14	0.71%		-\$2,316.91	
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%	100.00%	\$0.00	

If the responsibility of relevant jurisdictions were 80%, the costs would look like this:

Another possibility discussed was dividing costs based on the length of the beltline within each jurisdiction.

There are two ways to consider this. The first is to consider only municipal boundaries. In other words, for purposes of this formula, it does not matter who is responsible for maintaining the roadway. If a segment of the beltline falls within a jurisdiction's boundaries, then that segment is attributed to them.

Location Formula					
Member	Individual %		Grouped Percent	Difference from Base	
St. Cloud	\$61,069.67	30.53%	32.15%	-\$29,733.50	
Sherburne County	\$3,236.73	1.62%	32.1370	-\$563.24	
St. Joseph	\$22,656.18	11.33%		\$13,374.07	
Sartell	\$20,306.84	10.15%		-\$5,701.85	
Sauk Rapids	\$8,529.78	4.26%		-\$9,629.72	
Waite Park	\$25,924.36	12.96%	67.85%	\$14,596.72	
LeSauk TWP	\$6,065.94	3.03%	07.8370	\$4,424.53	
Benton County	\$42,950.74	21.48%		\$33,799.31	
Stearns County	\$9,259.77	4.63%		-\$16,832.28	
Metro Bus	\$0.00	0.00%		-\$3,734.05	
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%	100.00%	\$0.00	

Ownership Formula					
Member		Individual %	Grouped Percent	Difference from Base	
St. Cloud	\$57,188.36	28.59%	30.21%	-\$33,614.81	
Sherburne County	\$3,236.73	1.62%	30.2170	-\$563.24	
St. Joseph	\$8,754.72	4.38%		-\$527.38	
Sartell	\$0.00	0.00%		-\$26,008.69	
Sauk Rapids	\$0.00	0.00%		-\$18,159.50	
Waite Park	\$25,359.66	12.68%	69.79%	\$14,032.02	
LeSauk TWP	\$0.00	0.00%	09.7970	-\$1,641.41	
Benton County	\$59,570.07	29.79%		\$50,418.64	
Stearns County	\$45,890.46	22.95%		\$19,798.41	
Metro Bus	\$0.00	0.00%		-\$3,734.05	
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%	100.00%	\$0.00	

The other way to consider the length of the beltline is to consider who is responsible for operating and maintaining the roadway.

Finally, he presented one option wherein the APO would pay \$50,000 out of its financial reserves, and the remaining \$150,000 would be divided among the jurisdictions based on the 80% formula:

\$50,000 APO Reserves + 80% Formula						
Member	\$	Individual %	Grouped %	Difference		
				from Base		
APO Reserves	\$50,000.00	25.00%	25.00%	N/A		
St. Cloud	\$115,179.90	57.59%	60.00%	\$24,376.74		
Sherburne County	\$4,820.10	2.41%	00.00%	\$1,020.13		
St. Joseph	\$2,642.04	1.32%		-\$6,640.06		
Sartell	\$7,403.07	3.70%		-\$18,605.62		
Sauk Rapids	\$5,168.89	2.58%		-\$12,990.61		
Waite Park	\$3,224.28	1.61%	15.00%	-\$8,103.36		
LeSauk TWP	\$467.21	0.23%	15.0070	-\$1,174.20		
Benton County	\$2,640.85	1.30%		-\$6,546.58		
Stearns County	\$7,426.80	3.71%		-\$18,665.25		
Metro Bus	\$1,062.85	0.53%		-\$2,671.19		
Total	\$200,000.00	100.00%	100.00%	\$0.00		

There was discussion regarding how to pay for the environmental review match and what steps in the project development process should be shared-costs versus individual costs for the implementing jurisdiction.

Mr. Kluesner motioned to move forward using the base formula. Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion failed.

After much discussion regarding different ways to meet the match Mr. Perske presented the idea of using \$100,000 from the APO's financial reserves and \$100,000 from the City of St. Cloud to meet the match requirements. He made the point that everyone contributed to the financial reserves, so everyone is helping pay for the local match. There was discussion that the APO would need to replenish its financial reserves, and so dues would need to increase over future years. No formal action was taken regarding increasing dues at this time.

It was also stated that the APO and jurisdictions still needed to have a plan for future beltline needs and spending in place before the end of the year, however no formal action was taken at this time to do so.

Mr. Perske motioned to take \$100,000 out of the Area Planning Organization's reserves toward the 2025 Environmental Study, and the City of St. Cloud would come up with the remaining \$100,000 to make the match. Mr. Gapinski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Agenda items 7 through 10 were tabled until the April 11, 2024, Policy Board meeting.

11. ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Gapinski motioned to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:50 PM.