SAINT CLOUD AREA PLANNING ORGANIZATION POLICY BOARD Wednesday, February 7, 2024 – 4:30 PM

A regular meeting of the Saint Cloud Area Planning Organization Policy Board was held on Wednesday, February 7, 2024, at 4:30 PM APO Chair Raeanne Danielowski presided with the following members:

Jake AndersonCity of Saint CloudMatt GlaesmanCity of Saint CloudDottie SeamansCity of Sauk RapidsTim ElnessCity of SartellFrank TheisenCity of Waite Park

Frank Theisen City of Waite Park
Jared Gapinski County of Benton
Joe Perske Stearns County
Mike Kodrowski Metro Bus

Mike Kedrowski Metro Bus

Mayor Rick Schultz City of St. Joseph

Also in attendance were:

Saint Cloud APO Brian Gibson Vicki Johnson Saint Cloud APO Alex McKenzie Saint Cloud APO Trina Ness Saint Cloud APO Mayor Rick Miller City of Waite Park Ken Schmitt City of Waite Park Mike Lindquist City of Waite Park David Murphy City of St. Joseph Kevin Kluesner City of St. Joseph City of St. Joseph Nate Keller Jon Norenberg City of St. Cloud City of Sartell Jill Smith City of Sartell April Ryan City of Sartell Kari Theisen Ross Olson City of Sartell **Benton County** Steve Heinen Chris Byrd Benton County Jodi Teich Stearns County

Tom Cruikshank MnDOT Annie Buckvold Citizen

Absent:

Mayor Dave Kleis City of St. Cloud
Jeff Goerger City of St. Cloud
LeSauk Township

Ryan Daniel Metro Bus

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Mr. Anderson motioned to approve the agenda and Mr. Gapinski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No members of the public moved to speak.

CONSIDERATION OF CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- a. Approve Minutes of January 11, 2024, Policy Board Meeting
- b. Approve Bills Lists
- c. Approve Not Waiving Tort Liability Limits
- d. Receive Staff Report on Area Transportation Partnership (ATP-3) Quarterly Meeting
- e. Receive Staff Report on Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting

Ms. Seamans motioned to approve the consent agenda items and Mr. Anderson seconded the motion. Motion carried.

CONSIDER AMENDMENTS AND ADMINISTRATIVE MODIFICATIONS TO THE 2024-2027 TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM (TIP)

Ms. Johnson presented the FY 2024-2027 TIP Amendments/Modifications requests as well as the public comment for each.

FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments/Modifications

- Requests from:
 - Saint Cloud APO (Mississippi River Crossing).
 - Saint Cloud Metro Bus (operating budgets, operations vehicles, facility improvements).
 - WACOSA (replacement vehicles).
 - City of Saint Cloud (EV charging station, 22nd Street S)
 - Sherburne County (CR 65/45th Avenue realignment)
 - Stearns County (CSAH 133)

Mr. Gapinski motioned to approve the FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program Amendments/Modifications as presented, and Mr. Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

CONSIDER FY 2028 SURFACE TRANSPORTATION BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM (STBGP) FUNDING

Ms. Johnson gave an overview of the process, what the funding is for and how it works, how the funding is split for Central Minnesota ATP, FY 2028 Targeted STBGP Funding, how the APO spends their money, the STBGP scoring guidelines and prioritization.

Ms. Johnson then presented the applications received for FY 2028 STBGP Prioritization, and suggested actions made by the Technical Advisory Committee.

STBGP Proposed TAC Recommendations

Applicant	Project Title	Requested Federal Funds	Ranking	Proposed Funding Recommendations
Benton County	CSAH 3 full depth reclamation	\$1,750,000	2	\$1,004,660
Stearns County	CSAH 133 resurfacing	\$960,000	3	\$0
Stearns County	CSAH 1 reconstruction	\$1,500,000	1	\$1,500,000
Total (must equal \$2,504,660)		\$4,210,000		\$2,504,660

Mayor Schultz motioned to Award STBGP Funding and ranking to the projects as laid out by the Technical Advisory Committee. Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion carried.

CONSIDER 2028 TRANSPORTATION ALTERNATIVES (TA) PROJECT PRIORITIZATION

Ms. Johnson gave an overview of what Transportation Alternatives (TA) funding is, what it is used for, how it is split for Central Minnesota, and the role the APO plays in prioritizing the projects.

Ms. Johnson then presented the TA Applications along with the ATAC/TAC Preliminary Scores and Rankings.

ATAC/TAC Preliminary Scores and Rankings

Applicant	Project Title		Priority Point Distribution
City of Saint Cloud	Reconstruction of 22 nd Street S – multimodal components to include 6' wide sidewalk, 6' wide bike lanes.	3	0
City of Saint Cloud	Filling sidewalk gaps on 13^{th} Street S from 11^{th} Avenue S to Ninth Avenue S. Installation of a pedestrian activated crossing at the intersection of 13^{th} Street S and Ninth Avenue S.		10
City of Sauk Rapids	Construction of a sidewalk extension across dual set of railroad tracks adjacent to Second Avenue S and Benton Drive South.	2	5
City of Sauk Rapids	Installing pedestrian crosswalk flasher system along CSAH 3 at the intersections of Sixth Avenue N and Summit Avenue N.	5	0
City of Sartell	Installation of a shared use path along Pinecone Road from 15 th Street S to Roberts Road. This project will also include a push button flasher system at the intersection of Roberts Road and Pinecone Road S.	6	0
City of Saint Joseph	Construct a shared used path and crosswalk connecting the Lake Wobegon Trail Head to existing network; Sidewalk construction along College Avenue; Sidewalk/crosswalk construction various locations along Second Avenue NW and W Ash Street	4	0

Mr. Theisen motioned to approve the distribution of the TA prioritization as well as approval of the final ranking as set forth by the Technical Advisory Committee. Mr. Gapinski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

OTHER BUSINESS & ANNOUNCEMENTS:

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Anderson motioned to adjourn the meeting and Ms. Seamans seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:11 PM.