SAINT CLOUD AREA PLANNING ORGANIZATION POLICY BOARD Thursday, January 11, 2024 – 4:30 PM

A regular meeting of the Saint Cloud Area Planning Organization Policy Board was held on Thursday, January 11, 2024, at 4:30 PM APO Chair Raeanne Danielowski presided with the following members:

Jake Anderson Jeff Goerger Dottie Seamans Tim Elness Frank Theisen Jared Gapinski Joe Perske Paul Larson Mike Kedrowski	City of Saint Cloud City of Saint Cloud City of Sauk Rapids City of Sartell City of Waite Park County of Benton Stearns County LeSauk Township Metro Bus
Also in attendance were: Brian Gibson Vicki Johnson Alex McKenzie Trina Ness	Saint Cloud APO Saint Cloud APO Saint Cloud APO Saint Cloud APO
Absent: Mayor Dave Kleis	City of St. Cloud

City of St. Cloud
City of St. Joseph
LeSauk Township
Metro Bus

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

Mr. Anderson motioned to approve the agenda and Mr. Gapinski seconded the motion. Motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD: No members of the public were in attendance. However, Mr. Gibson mentioned a phone call he received regarding 322nd Street, which has been used as a cut-across from CR 4 and CR 133. The complaint was regarding road conditions. Mr. Perske stated he received an email regarding the same.

CONSIDERATION OF CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:

- a. Approve Minutes of November 9, 2023, Policy Board Meeting
- b. Approve Bills Lists
- c. Approve Annual Resolution on Investment Procedures
- d. Approve Annual Resolution on Paying Certain Claims

- e. Approve Annual Resolution on Official Newspaper of Record
- f. Receive Report on 2023 Attendance for the Technical Advisory Committee
- g. Receive report on 2023 Attendance for the Policy Board Members

Ms. Seamans motioned to approve the consent agenda items and *Mr.* Goerger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

6. ELECT OFFICERS FOR 2024. A. SUGGESTED ACTION: ELECT A CHAIR AND 3 VICE-CHAIRS FOR 2024

Mr. Anderson motioned to nominate Ms. Danielowski to remain as the Chair for 2024, and Mr. Goerger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Ms. Seamans motioned to nominate Jared Gapinski as first vice-chair, Jeff Westerlund as second vice-chair, and Jake Anderson as third vice-chair. Frank Theisen seconded the motion. Motion carried.

7. ELECT AN APO REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE AREA TRANSPORTATION PARTNERSHIP.

A. SUGGESTED ACTION: ELECT AN ATP REPRESENTATIVE

Ms. Johnson gave a breakdown of the history of the Area Transportation Partnership (ATP), what the ATP is, the expectations and requirements of someone representing the area and serving on the ATP.

There was discussion amongst the members, and it was decided that if Mr. Gapinski were to be the ATP representative, all three counties would be represented because Ms. Danielowski and Mr. Perske are currently on the ATP as representatives of Region 7W.

Mr. Ellness motioned to nominate Mr. Gapisnki for the ATP Representative. Mr. Goerger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

8. CONSIDER AMENDING THE 2024 UNIFIED PLANNING WORK PROGRAM (UPWP) TO INCLUDE "SAFE STREETS & ROADS FOR ALL" GRANT.

Mr. Gibson stated that at the direction of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and with permission from the Policy Board, he applied for a grant from the Safe Streets & Roads for all (SS4A) Program. Mr. Gibson explained that there are two types of grants – one for planning and one for project implementation. The consensus was that rather than the individual cities within the APO all completing their own individual safety action plans, it would be preferable for the APO to complete one regional safety action plan, thus enabling the cities to apply for SS4A implementation funds.

On December 13th Mr. Gibson was notified by USDOT that we were awarded our requested grant of \$120,000. Leveraging these funds requires at least a \$30,000 local match, and we must amend the 2024 UPWP to include the funds in our budget. Mr. Gibson included the SS4A grant in all of the tables and financials but simply labeled it as "Illustrative". With Board approval, staff will delete the "Illustrative" label from the UPWP.

Mr. Gapinski motioned to amend the UPWP to remove the word "Illustrative" from the 2024 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP), and Mr. Goerger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

9. RECEIVE CSAH 1 CORRIDOR STUDY.

Mr. Gibson presented the CSAH 1 Corridor study showing the traffic speed, crash, and volume data, as well as delays in service. Stearns County does not currently have the funds to proceed with this project but is hopeful that it will be constructed within the next 7 – 10 years.

OTHER BUSINESS & ANNOUNCEMENTS:

The February Policy Board meeting will be held Wednesday, February 7th, 2024, at the Sartell Community Center. There will be a short Policy Board Meeting and the 2024 Beltline Workshop will commence after.

Mr. Anderson asked how Mr. Gibson sees the Beltline Workshop going, which led to a discussion regarding the beltline, individual entities, and their physical and financial representations. Ms. Danielowski stated that this was a good precursor to the upcoming workshop.

ADJOURNMENT:

Mr. Theisen motioned to adjourn the meeting and Mr. Goerger seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:22 PM.